About Calry Local History Society

Calry Local History Society was established on 18 July 2016 at the inaugural meeting held at the Clarion Hotel, Sligo. A committee of nine members was elected.

  • Gerry Cunningham (Chair)
  • Mary Dolan (Secretary)
  • Mary McGoldrick (Treasurer)
  • Eilish McGowan (Photo archivist)
  • Karen Flynn (Sport)
  • Jackie McGowan
  • Vincent Hargadon
  • Michael McMorrow
  • Tom Fox

A constitution for the Society was drafted and approved in 2017 with the Committee being enlarged to eleven members.

The mission statement of the Society is – to preserve the heritage and history of the civil parish of Calry.

The activities of the Society are centred around four focal areas:

  • Research
  • Archive/Publishing
  • Events
  • Infrastructure

The Society’s activities are implemented through a rolling workprogramme of annual projects which are funded through various grants, private donations and fundraising initiatives.

The Society’s legal, institutional and financial support base is underpinned by:

  • Networking, awareness-raising, outreach
  • Membership drive
  • Finance and fundraising
  • Legal basis (constitution, affiliations, insurance, etc)

The Committee meets between four and six times per year and is particularly active during National Heritage Week. The Society’s AGM is held in April each year.

Calry Local History Society fully insured and registered for tax with Irish Revenue as a non-profit entity. The Society is affiliated with the Irish Federation of Local History Societies and is a member of the Sligo Public Participation Network.