Calry Athletic Club hosts the National Junior and Womens’ Intermediate Cross Country Championships (Sunday 2 February 1969)

Established in 1964, Calry Athletic Club was the dominant club in County Sligo throughout the 1970s in race walking, road running and cross-country. The Club competed at international, national, provincial, county and local level, winning many awards.

On Sunday 2 February 1969, Calry Athletic Club hosted the National Junior and Womens’ Intermediate Cross Country Championships at Sligo Racecourse.  The Sligo Boys Championship was also part of the programme that day.

This was an ambitious undertaking for the Club as athletes from all over Ireland converged on Sligo to participate in the hope of winning national honours.

A comprehensive 30-page programme was produced for the event.  The programme was priced at One Shilling and printed by Champion Publications Ltd, Wine St, Sligo in the form of a 30-page booklet detailing the entrants for all events and supplemented by many advertisements submitted by local businesses.

The Club Chairman, Tommy Casey, in his welcoming statement thanked everyone involved in the organization of the event which at that time was a significant undertaking by a small athletic club.  The Club’s joint Honorary Secretaries, Claire Walsh and Charley Branley, also wrote welcoming remarks in the programme.

The programme listed the officers and committee of Calry AC:

Honorary President: Very Rev Thomas Beirne

Vice-Presidents: Alan Henry and Padraig Foran, NT

Chairman: Tommy Casey

Vice-Chairman: Seamus Cummins

Honorary Treasurer: Jimmy Flynn.

Joint Honorary Secretaries: Claire Walsh and Charlie Branley

P.R.O.: Micky McGuinn

Committee Members: Ivan Morris, John Flynn, Padraig Dolan, Pat Branley, Brendan Mooney, Kieran Murphy and Jackie McGowan.

The National Intermediate Womens’ Championship attracted teams representing Galway, Leitrim, Clare, Tipperary, Limerick, Dublin, Kildare, Monaghan, and Mayo.

The following clubs participated : Ballinamore AC (Leitrim), Nenagh AC (Tipperary), Calry AC (Sligo), Moycarkey-Borris (Tipperary), Maria AC (Clare), Granagh AC (Limerick), St Mary’s AC (Waterford), Avondale AC (Dublin), Clonliffe Harriers (Dublin), Glasslough AC (Monaghan), and Raphoe AC (Donegal).

The Calry AC intermediate womens’ team comprised of: M. Kevlehan, A. Glennon, C. Flanagan, G. Gallagher, and T. Dolan.

The National Junior Championship attracted teams representing Cavan, Monaghan, Mayo, Laois, Galway, Dublin, Kildare, Clare, Tipperary, Cork, Donegal and Meath, and two individual athletes.

The National Junior Inter-club Championship was contested by  UCG (Galway), Loughrea-Sentena (Galway), Donore Harriers (Dublin),  Avondale AC (Dublin), Blackrock AC (Dublin), Clonliffe Harriers (Dublin), Dublin City Harriers, Newbridge AC (Kildare), Civil Service AC (Dublin), University College Dublin, Marian AC (Clare), Moycarkey AC (Tipperary), Dundrum AC (Tipperary), Premier AC (Tipperary), Leevale AC (Cork), Grange AC (Cork), St. Finbarr’s AC (Cork), Calry AC (Sligo), Kilkenny City Harriers, Moore AC (Roscommon), Glasslough Harriers (Monaghan), Tullamore Harriers (Offaly), Metropolitan Harriers (Dublin), Tuam AC (Galway) and St Andrew’s Meath.

The Calry AC Junior mens team comprised of: B.Mooney, P.Dolan, B. McGuinn, S. Cummins, and E. Cahalan.

The Sligo Boys Championship was one lap of the Racecourse, the Womens’ Intermediate Championship event was two laps, and the National Junior championship was run over six laps.

The Mayor of Sligo, Cllr John Fallon presented the prizes.

The official programme was supported by many sponsors who placed advertisements in the printed booklet.  The adverts present a good overview of businesses operating in Sligo at the time (1968-9).

The full programme may be browsed in the Members Only section of the website.  Some sample pages are appended below.

Contributor: Charlie Branley

Sources:  Event programme